Search It !

Monday, March 16, 2009

Collapse Under The Empire - Systembreakdown (2009) (AWESOME !!!)

Genre : Post-rock, Atmospheric, German

Tracklist :

01 - Monumental sequence
02 - sky falling
03 - innocence
04 - the taste of last summer
05 - quiet dimension
06 - environmental obsession
07 - turn
08 - depending on you
09 - further than the end of the world
10 - buried in pieces

Collapse Under The Empire is an instrumental/post-rock band from Hamburg/Germany. They formed 2007 and released their debut album „Systembreakdown“ (2009) on their own.

Most of the songs are alternating between electro-bleeps and powerful guitar explosions; it’s both disturbing and seductive. As with Collapse Under The Empire’s debut EP „Paintball“ they’ve succeeded their specific post rock sound, combining epic guitars with chilled electronic elements and a portion melancholic mood.

In one year’s time they have self-released their debut LP “Systembreakdown”, It displays acute instrumental sensibility, using pianos and synths with guitar-battering crescendos. “Systembreakdown” may only be about 40 minutes long with no nine-minute epic, but it packs a lot of beauty and emotion.

Collapse Under The Empire start their newest album systembreakdown with a little electronic feel. Synth-pads cause the obligatory, melancholic mood, whereon the song flows into a mellow bridge-part, until it appears for the first time on this CD: the notorious “wall of sound”. A post-rock phenomenon, which has attracted all possible adjectives - from outstanding to horrible. Well, on systembreakdown? The words melodic and tangible might apply the most here. Those are drawn through, from the first to the last second.

1 comment:

mr said...


What is the password?