Search It !

Saturday, August 9, 2008

El Ten Eleven - These Promises Are Being Videotaped (2008)

Genre : Electronic,Experimental, Post-rock

Tracklist :

1. Jumping Frenchmen of Maine
2. I Like Van Halen Because My Sister Says They Are Cool
3. Fat Gym Riot
4. Adam and Nathan Totally Kick Ass
5. K10
6. Paranoid Android
7. Chino
8. Numb Tooth

With their first album, they were very post rock. Then there was a bit of a switch to "Every Direction is North." That particular album was a lot more upbeat. Less about atmospheres and more about dancing. And now, they've refined that sound. It's being called "Kraftwerk In The Sky" due to the jump from post rock to more danceable stuff, but of course, they still having one man playing all the riffs on the fly. And the Paranoid Androids cover, well that just Awesome!!!


"Kraftwerk in the Sky." The Onion

"Justice Meets Tortoise." Some kid in Portland

"It might sound delusional to say the dude in El Ten Eleven is playing bass in a way that's never been done before, but if you've seen these guys live, you know it's not out of the question." Arizona Daily Star

"Imagine the music Michel Gondry may conjure to score a short film documenting an intense round of Chutes & Ladders, or putting earbuds on heart ventricles during a sunny-day jog. Something like that, I promise." Independent Weekly

"El Ten Eleven plays instrumental postrock so startlingly alive with dewdrop sparkle and melodic elan that the urge to sing along with lyrics that aren't there is unshakable." Baltimore City Paper

No comments: