Search It !

Sunday, February 13, 2011

My Dad vs. Yours – Little Symphonies (2011) (AWESOME !!!)

Genre : Post-rock, Canada

Tracklist :

1. En Plein Soleil 04:47
2. Hip to Hip 03:53
3. Ghost Horse 04:17
4. Nonno 02:46
5. Wildcat Strike 05:13
6. Against Tide and Wind 04:30
7. Born Upward (Time Flies) 04:49
8. Happy Wanderer 02:48
9. Carry the Weight 02:13
10. Little Symphonies 05:49
11. (ending) 03:12

After three years of building songs up, then carving them back down to their essentials, My Dad vs Yours has broken the post-rock mould into sparkling gems. Their second full-length album, Little Symphonies, is built around philosophies of pop music by balancing aesthetic and practical landscapes influenced by Phil Spector’s “wall of sound". And they've done it with style, using delicious layers of melody and samples that include analog synths, beat-boxing, local church bells (backed by road construction), family recordings and lush string arrangements. The album is more upbeat than its predecessor, with a pop-inspired intensity varnishing the band's careful instrumentation. This positive energy supports the album's overall message: that the small things matter, and that our everyday battles will ready us for whatever life throws our way.

No comments: