Search It !

Friday, October 10, 2008

Up-C Down-C Left-C Right-C ABC + Start - Embers (2008) (AWESOME !!!)

Genre : Post-rock

Tracklist :

1 Embers And Ashes 0:45
2 Get To The Chopper 7:53
3 Our Flowers 5:15
4 Murmurs Pt. 2 5:56
5 New Chapters 1:19
6 McDoomish 8:24
7 Murmurs Part 1 5:20
8 Cascades 4:44
9 Fireflies 8:01
10 The Creeping Fear 9:58

Upcdowncleftcrightcabcandstart are a mainly Instrumental rock/pop 4 piece from Kent. They signed to Indie label Tap n Tin records in late 2004 and on February 14th 2005, released their first double AA 7" single "Stand shadowless like silence/Sadako's fury". This was proceeded by a live Xfm session with John Kennedy on May 5th and their second single "Shallows" (available on 10" vinyl only) on August 1st 2005.

Their debut album "And the battle is won" was released on October 24th 2005 to rave reviews by the music press (see below).

In 2006 the band recorded their first Radio One live session at Maida Vale studios which was broadcast on the Huw Stephens show on March 7th. The band spent most of 2006 recording/writing their 2nd album "Embers" and also had their first U.K tour promoting “And the battle is won.

Embers will be released October 6th 2008 through Tap N Tin Records before parting ways with the label.

Their live sound has been described as "Brutal and loud, yet melodic and almost orchestral" Upcdownc's sonic explosion feels massive in any venue.

"It's the collision of two worlds, this is a rock that requires a wider audience, today." Drowned in Sound

"Brutal and loud, yet melodic and almost orchestral" The Fly

"Sounds like your dads prog-rock records forced through a hydra head branded mincer, fed to bearded Mogwai fans and regurgitated into a hardcore kid's cap. Sick, yes, but satisfying" Rock Sound

"By the time it's finished with you, you've been assaulted by dense, heavy feedback, angry, growling guitars and enough post-rock to knock out a smack head. Great" Dj mag

"With riffs as big as fillet steaks and pastoral passages straight outta Middlemarch, And the battle is won is a symphonic sprawl of bucolic tinkering and prolonged colossal feedback that has me reaching for my mathematical dictionary to make sense of it all" Plan B

Feedback guitar freakouts and extended Can-esque krautrock instrumentals. Magnificent stuff!!! piccadilly records

"Rarely has the skin been freckled by such tingling static and the soul shaken by continental plate shifting switches in volume Rock Sound live review

"The sound created by this band challenges the hard-rock mentality of Pelican while remaining soft enough to dance with Mono without breaking any toes" decoy music

Kerrang! album review - 4 KKKK out of 5!
Once the last outpost of pedal junkies, post-rock has now grown and expanded into a diverse and healthy genre, with a lack of vocals and grandiose ambitions as the only real unifying factors. Leading the new vanguard are Up-C Down-C Left-C Right-C ABC + Start - it's the cheat instruction for 'Sonic the Hedgehog' - whose debut is a lesson in musical architecture. Segueing some stirring classical into layer upon layer of guitars that crash like the falling pillars of Pompeii, 'Not Of The Fallen' is indicative of Up-C's deft way with creating high drama with guitars in new ways. Their future looks bright. Kerrang

No comments: