Search It !

Thursday, October 9, 2008

Maybeshewill - Not For Want Of Trying (2008) (AWESOME !!!)

Genre : Post-rock, Electronica

Tracklist :

01. Ixnay On The Autoplay
02. Seraphim & Cherubim
03. The Paris Hilton Sex Tape
04. I'm In Awe, Amadeus!
05. We Called For An Ambulance But A Fire Engine Came
06. Heartflusters
07. C.N.T.R.C.K.T.
08. He Films The Clouds Pt. 2
09. Not For Want Of Trying
10. Takotsubo

Maybeshewill is the product of three boys, one girl, their frustrations with a broken laptop and their over-active imaginations. Maybeshewill is James Collins (drums), John Helps (guitar), Robin Southby (guitar) and Victoria Sztuka (bass). They use computers to play (almost) everything else because they only have so many hands and they're notoriously poor at multi-tasking.

Maybeshewill is spelt with a capital M and no spaces - It's one word, not three. Maybeshewill like the way it sounds, not the meaning of its constituent parts - If you're looking for a meaning in it, you won't find any here.

Maybeshewill don't really like the way the music 'industry' works (infact it enrages them) and thus they try to do as much as they can in a 'DIY' Fashion. They record, mix and master their records themselves, book their own shows and run their own label which releases music by bands that they think deserve more attention.

If you want to talk to them about anything (shows, sandwiches, world politics - all the usual stuff) you can send them a message through Myspace or use the email over there <--. They will usually reply. Maybeshewill release their first new material since 'Not For Want Of Trying' this October on their side of a split single with Leicester/Leeds boys 'Her Name Is Calla'. The two tracks included on the release are live 'favourite' 'This Time Last Year' and brand new song 'Last Time This Year'. The record will be available on their RockSound sponsored tour with 'And So I Watch You From Afar' in October, and later in the month from all good record stores. Most bands couldn’t juggle the collective noise of Mogwai and Glassjaw without exploding. However, Leicester instrumentalists Maybeshewill make it sound easy as they lead you through a panoramic musical landscape of serrated riffs, atmospheric pianos, electronic blips and frenetic drum loops.
Admittedly, some of the best electro-rock ideas here aren’t strictly original but, with results this effective, it doesn’t matter.--Kerrang (2008)

No comments: