Search It !

Tuesday, September 16, 2008

Oppressed by the Line - Soft Focus (2008)

Genre :
Electronica, Shoegaze, Experimental

Tracklist :

1 Condensation
2 Sorry I Never Wrote You Back
3 Don't Bestow The Lesser Things
4 The Stars Are Sleeping
5 Solitude
6 I Can't Remember The Sound
7 Static Images And Soft Whispers
8 Thousands Of Miles And An Ocean Away
9 Shattering Glass Houses
10 Magnetic North

Jon Thompson grew up in a small industrial town outside of Houston, Texas. Close to the coast, it’s the sort of small American town where his only window into the bigger world of music was staying up until 1am on a Sunday night to watch 120 Minutes on MTV. Perhaps it was this, as much as anything else, that led him to pick up a guitar and seek solace amongst the rhythm and the sound.

After stints in many bands, Jon turned his 4-track diversion into his main project. Upon visiting the Tate Modern in London, he christened the project Oppressed by the Line; named after a quote on a placard under a painting by Yves Kleine. The quote read, “I adopt the cause of the colour oppressed by the line”.

The painting is gone, but the music remains. Currently residing in London(UK), Oppressed by the Line is ready to release the follow up to his debut The Cause of the Colour (which appeared on the ClubAC30 imprint). Soft Focus, as this sophomore release is entitled, is overall richer in texture and more thoroughly realised than that it’s predecesor. Soft Focus is 10 tracks of mournful melodies and sonic bliss.

[me]Thx to sir Mayo @ IP :)

No comments: