Search It !

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Miaou - The Day Will Come Before Long (2011) (AWESOME !!!)

Genre : Post-rock, Electronica, from Japan


01. Notnotnot
02. Small Dream
03. Own Your Colours
04. Cycle
05. Endings (feat. epic45)
06. Up And The Sky
07. Lost Souls (feat. radical face)
08. Keep Drifting My Heart

Miaou were formed in 1999 by Tatsuki Hamasaki and sisters Mayumi and Hiromi Hasegawa. Throughout the years the band have blurred the line between pop and experimental, adopting ambient synth swells, drones and IDM glitch to craft a dreamy vision of instrumental rock.

Since the release of their debut album, ‘Happiness’ , in 2003, the band continued making new songs and touring though Japan with Art of Fighting, Epic45 and Tracer AMC. Armed with an ever increasing mountain of synths, toy instruments and a fender rhodes, the band released a second album, ‘Make These Things Alright’ , and their ‘painted’ e.p., further blurring the lines between post-rock and electronica.

After their third album, ‘All Around Us’ , came out in 2008, the band toured across Japan, into Taiwan playing the Formoz festival, as well as doing shows in Ireland and the UK. In between recording the band have contributed to Compilations in Japan and the USA, and completed remixes for the likes of Sweden’ s EF and Not Squares from the UK.

Recorded in Tokyo in the Spring of 2011, The Day Will Come Before Long sees miaou push on into more electronic territory than before – bigger synths, broken up samples and glitchy guitars. Mixed by electronic extraordinaire Cornel Wilczek (Qua) in Australia and featuring some achingly beautiful vocals from special guest singers in Ben Cooper (Electric President/Radical Face/Ghost) and Ben Holton (Epic45). Expect to hear swelling synths, crashing guitars and electronic beats making up miaou’s sonic soundscapes.