Search It !

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Goonies Never Say Die - In A Forest Without Trees (2009) (AWESOME !!!)

Genre : Post-rock, UK

Tracklist :

1. Intro
2. This One Took Forever
3. Don't Fight the Fire Fuck The Arsonist
4. Everyone Comes To Life
5. Get All Your Ducks In a Row
6. Sometimes Its Not So Bad
7. The Scene Where Everyone Dies
8. When Middle8s Migrate
9. Say That Its Something
10. I Know, I Know, I Know

Goonies Never Say Die are a quintet from the blustery holiday haven of Blackpool, who have undertaken the recording of this whole album with the help of Simon Morgan. The album itself is a stunning piece of work, well balanced, mixed and produced, it’s a sound that compliments the intricate mixture of instrumental progressive rock. The band themselves use the phrase 'cinematic' and that’s a reasonable description for this ten track, fifty minute adventure. For the best part, the band concentrate on lush, quieter moments, which still sound like The Chameleons on a slow burner (“Don’t Fight The Fire” / “Everyone Comes To Life”), but there are as you might expect, big swathes of noisy fire peaked crescendos, imprinted with the kind of textures often pioneered by Explosions and Mogwai. Pulling off a series of songs without vocals isn’t as easy as you would imagine, but with the vision to create wonderful landscapes like “When Middle Eights Migrate”, Goonies Never Say Die make the quieter bits sound as interesting and compulsive as the explosive highlights. The album can be downloaded in its entirety for free via the band’s website.

No comments: