Search It !

Tuesday, August 19, 2008

This Will Destroy You - This Will Destroy You (2008) (AWESOME !!!)

Genre :
Post-rock, Ambient

Tracklist :

1. A Three-Legged Workhorse
2. Villa Del Refugio
3. Threads
4. Leather Wings
5. The Mighty Rio Grande
6. They Move on Tracks of Never-Ending Light
7. Burial on the Presidio Banks

This Will Destroy You is an American instrumental post-rock band from San Marcos, Texas. The band is made up of guitarists Chris King and Jeremy Galindo, bass player Raymond Brown and drummer Andrew Miller with Brown playing the keyboard for live performances. They are currently signed to Magic Bullet Records.
The band formed in 2005 and has released one EP, Young Mountain, which was originally supposed to be the band's demo. The EP has received favorable reviews. They began recording their self-titled debut in February 2007, which was released on January 29, 2008

Many times, this band compared to Sigur Rós and Explosions in the Sky, and I must say I have to agree with the comparisons. The truth is, This Will Destroy You haven’t reinvented post-rock. But, much like the discovery of a new species of poison frog, the band have uncovered a new layer of it, offering music that differs slightly in scope.

Someone said, that space is silent; that every movie that portrays an open space explosion with digitally enhanced sounds is falsely illustrating what it is really like out there. But I choose to agree with Hollywood, only because I believe that if astronauts played This Will Destroy You while drifting through space, they'd feel much more like they belonged there.

No comments: